People


SLOSEA has the benefit of wide-ranging participation by many sectors of the Morro Bay community.

The table below is a summary of SLOSEA participants and collaborators in alphabetical order by last name.   Links are provided where available to personal web pages or specific biographical.




Name Title Affiliation Initiatives e-mail
Leadership Team & Support Staff
Dean Wendt, PhD SLOSEA Executive Director & Associate Dean, Cal Poly College of Science & Math Cal Poly, SLOSEA RF, WQ, CC, HA, IS, ME dwendt@calpoly.edu
Adrienne Harris, MS Director, Morro Bay National Estuary Program MBNEP RF, WQ, CC, HA, IS, ME staff@mbnep.org
Melissa Locke, JD SLOSEA Marine Policy & Communications Manager
Lecturer, Biological Sciences Dept.
Cal Poly, SLOSEA RF, WQ, CC, HA, IS, ME mlocke@calpoly.edu
Don Maruska, MBA JD SLOSEA Strategy & Fisheries Policy Adviser SLOSEA RF donmaruska@slosea.org
Leslie Rebik, MS SLOSEA Program Support Cal Poly, SLOSEA RF, WQ, CC, HA, IS, ME lrebik@calpoly.edu
Graduate Fellows
Melissa Daugherty SLOSEA Graduate Fellow Cal Poly, SLOSEA WQ mdaugher@calpoly.edu
Carolyn Ewers SLOSEA Graduate Fellow Cal Poly, SLOSEA CC, WQ cewers@calpoly.edu
Nate Hall SLOSEA Graduate Fellow Cal Poly, SLOSEA RF nhall@calpoly.edu
Sarah Johnson SLOSEA Graduate Fellow Cal Poly, SLOSEA WQ
Leslie Longabach SLOSEA Graduate Fellow Cal Poly, SLOSEA RF llongaba@calpoly.edu
Lisa Needles, MS SLOSEA Graduate Fellow UCSB Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology Dept. IS lisaneedles@gmail.com
Loredana Serafini SLOSEA Graduate Fellow Cal Poly, SLOSEA WQ lserafin@calpoly.edu
Grant Waltz SLOSEA Graduate Fellow Cal Poly, SLOSEA HA gwaltz@calpoly.edu
Johanna Weston SLOSEA Graduate Fellow Cal Poly, SLOSEA WQ, CC jweston@calpoly.edu
Research Scientists, Staff & Collaborators
Lenora Brewer, BS Research Assistant, Lab Coordinator CCMS RF, HA, IS lbrewer@calpoly.edu
Lyle Hibler, MS Research Scientist Pacific Northwest National Lab (Battelle) WQ, CC lyle.hibler@pnl.gov
Mark Moline, PhD Director, CCMS & Professor, Biological Sciences Dept. Cal Poly WQ, CC mmoline@calpoly.edu
Royden Nakamura, PhD Professor, Biological Sciences Dept. Cal Poly RF nakamura@calpoly.edu
Jennifer Oquendo, PhD Post-Doctorate Researcher Cal Poly WQ
Linwood Pendleton, PhD Assoc. Professor, Environmental Health Sci.
Director, Coastal Ocean Values Center
UCLA
COVC
ME linwoodp@ucla.edu
John Penvenne, MS PE Electrical/Ocean Engineer Penscil, Inc. WQ, CC johnp@penscil.com
Ian Robbins, MS Senior Research Scientist CCMS WQ, CC irobbins@calpoly.edu
Rick Starr, PhD Research Scientist, Sea Grant Advisor Moss Landing Marine Labs RF starr@mlml.calstate.edu
John Steinbeck, MS Environmental Engineering Consultant TENERA Environmental HA jsteinbeck@tenera.com
John Stephens, Jr., PhD Executive Director Vantuna Research Group RF
Lars Tomanek, PhD Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences Dept. Cal Poly WQ, CC ltomanek@calpoly.edu
Brian Zelenke, MS Senior Research Scientist CCMS WQ, CC bzelenke@calpoly.edu
KEY
Affiliations: CCMS=Cal Poly Center for Coastal & Marine Sciences; MBNEP=Morro Bay National Estuary Program;
Initiatives: RF=Regional Fisheries; WQ=Water Quality; CC=Climate Change; HA=Human Access; IS=Invasive Species; ME=Marine Economy